logo_titlelogo

Ofsted Early Years inspection July 2018, School inspection June 2019 - Rated Good

'Children thrive in the early years'

'Strong, reflective teaching in a nurturing environment ensures that children achieve well'

'Pupils behave well, are polite and courteous'

Herts CC visit Jan 2020 - Green - Setting is effectively supporting disadvantaged and vulnerable children

Herts CC Early Years Effectiveness Inspection Feb 2020 - Children are well supervised and procedures for keeping them safe are effective

Limited places from September - book a place now to avoid disappointment

Viewings from outside the building held now

See wonderful photos and videos on the gallery page

Testimonials


Please see stick man icon to the left for Ofsted Parentview and search Longwood School and Nursery.

Please see pdf letters below including from other schools about Longwood.

I just wanted to send a note to say thank you for all that you and your nursery/pre-school teams are doing for us to keep Longwood open and safe for our children. Our girls have been comfortable and confident attending Longwood since you reopened which feeds confidence in us as parents too. It cannot be easy managing the additional measures with such young kids as well as having to wear PPE throughout the day. Childcare allows us as parents to continue to work from home and the positive impact of this on our family life is huge. The happiness and contentment of our girls at Longwood only adds to this. (January 2021)

Since joining Longwood, XXX's confidence has reached another level as we have witnessed the twinkle in her eyes every time she talks about her school. She keeps mentioning her teachers at home & how helpful & loving you all are. We can't express how excited we are to be able to continue her academic journey with Longwood as she starts Reception in September. (Preschool Parent, July 2020)

Just wanted to pass our heartfelt gratitude to you and all the Longwood staff who have managed to keep the learning and enthusiasm going over these strange months. In all honestly, my appreciation and respect for the school and all your team has sky rocketed in the past few months. You have all done amazingly to maintain the loving atmosphere online and in school both, despite all the changes. Please convey our thanks and appreciation to all the staff too. We are ever so grateful that XXX is continuing her education with this school which is more like a large, yet a very close knit family! (Preschool Parent, July 2020)

We were so worried about the choice of school, but with the way XXX has developed, we know we made the right choice with Longwood! (Preschool Parent, July 2020)

It's hard to believe that her time at Longwood is coming to an end. She has had a wonderful 3 1/2 years with you all. (Preschool Parent, July 2020)

This is our last week - I can't believe it, after 16 years it feels like I am walking away from my family. (Year 6 Parent, July 2020)

I really have loved our time at Longwood and I don't think we would have coped without the excellent Longwood staff. During the early months we had no idea what we were doing so the advice we received from the team was priceless, from potty training, nap drops, to the dizzy heights of French and phonics!! You have all supported us from the first months we joined when we needed to juggle attendance dates, right up to XXX's last summer term. He's had a great start and his new school have large boots to fill. (Preschool parent, July 2020)


I just wanted to let you know about how amazing your team have been with sorting out some issues that xxx has been having with a few boys in his class. Just before Christmas there was an incident that I asked to be looked into and by the end of the day, I had a phone call to say that all parties involved had been spoken to. Then again on Tuesday one of the boys did something again and Mrs Rastrick and Madame were straight on it and the boy warned about the zero tolerance approach that Longwood have about the pupils being unkind.
I have heard from some of my friends about schools not taking things like this seriously and I can only say that I have felt fully supported in this matter and listened to at all times.
Xxx went to school this morning full of joy and this had been missing at the end of last term which was unlike him as he loves school so much. So I just wanted to say thank you! (KS2, Jan 2020)


We just wanted to say a huge thank you for the wonderful care and support you've given to ... during his time in Apple. He had an absolute blast and is going to miss you all!! Thank you (Apple August 2019)

A huge thank you for everything that you have done for .. over the year. Your patience and kindness has been greatly appreciated. She will miss you dearly and has taken some fantastic memories during her time in Apple and Cherry Room. My husband and I could go to work and relax knowing she was under your care, supervision and guidance and for that we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. (Apple and Cherry August 2019)

A massive thank you for all your hard work,... has loved it (Cherry August 2019)

We are really pleased how well and quickly our daughter has settled in Little Willow. All the staff are fab, going out of their way to help our daughter feel secure and happy. She has done so much and is clearly having a great time! (Little Willow March 2019)

I love to see how happy our daughter is at nursery and she is well looked after. (Little Willow March 2019)

Our son joined Longwood later than most, having moved from a state school system which was not set up to deal with a pupil who was deemed difficult to suppress. Immediately upon arrival at Longwood he was made to feel very welcome and thrived in an environment which allows pupils to move at a pace educationally speaking, in line with their ability and thirst for knowledge at any given point. The feel of the school harnessed together with the smaller size means that most of the kids not only know one another but are closer as a result. Our experience at the end of the last academic year was so positive when viewing the then year 6 leavers in their final days, made up our minds for certain. What we saw were such heartfelt emotions of what they were leaving behind that anyone viewing this would have known that they had made exactly the right choice of school. What you wish for as a parent is for your child to look back and say my school days were the best experience I could have asked for, and they did help shape me into a kind, thoughtful and hard working person. My belief is that Longwood does exactly that and my son is a much much happier boy for the opportunities and teaching that has been on offer. (Year 6 October 2018)

My granddaughter left Longwood School this year, passing the entrance tests and moving to a Grammar school of her choice. Longwood is a friendly family school with small class sizes; this helped give her confidence and enthusiasm, and a good measure of self-independence. Longwood provided a strong academic base to work from and generated a genuine interest in language, music, art, netball and swimming. (Year 6 July 2018)

Have had my 2 children at the nursery and school from the age of 1 and always feel so lucky to have found this school. With a firm focus on education Longwood school also provides a safe, nurturing happy environment which allows children to be themselves and thrive. The friendly and approachable manner of the school has always assured me that should there be an issue as well, there would be no hesitation in finding the solution immediately - luckily for me such a scenario has never occurred. Thank you Longwood!! (Year 4 and Year 6 June 2018)


The following PDFs are available:
Bushey Meads Executive Principal, Jeremy Turner
David Lawrence, Orchestral and National Youth Choir Conductor
Edge Grove School Headmaster, Ben Evans
Portals to the Past
illustration on Testimonials